Oh no !!!! Modern fuel hose

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Yeah that doesn't bother me. They aren't entering a concours.

I'm not a pro bike mechanic, but I find it hard to believe that engine is running a 15:1 or 16:1 compression like he said. I looked at a 1928 Mercedes-Benz SSK, a period performance street car ((the SSKL was the racing version) with a 431 cu. in. engine, seriously undersquare (100mm X 150mm) 2V inline-6 cyl, 247 hp @ 3300 rpm; 415 ft.lb. torque @ 1900 rpm; and supercharged, w/two carburetors. It runs a 6.2:1 compression ratio and burns gasoline. I would expect maybe 9:1 or 10:1 for the racing Harley-Davidson. The low octane gasoline of the time wouldn't allow high-compression engines like he claimed the H-D had.

Update:
I listened to the narrative again and heard him say that the bike runs alcohol, so that would allow a much-higher compression ratio than a gasoline-powered engine. The alcohol cools the engine as-well as it powers it.

The Offenhauser engine, an inline 4 cyl DOHC racing design, a derivative of the Miller racing engine of the same design, and which itself was supposed to be a copy of the pre-WW I (!) Peugeot DOHC Indy 500 racing design, was using alcohol to run high compression ratios. A road design car was built after WW II using the Offenhauser powerplant, designed by Frank Kurtis, the KK 500, the chassis could be had with or without fenders, and it was also a very-successful open-wheeled design in racing, where it used alcohol. When it was converted to using gasoline, it became problematic (the Offenhauser). The design was later sold as the Muntz Jet, and it didn't fare any-better in the marketplace. Changing names didn't change the problems of running gasoline in an engine designed to operate upon alcohol.

It's great to reunite the engine and chassis, and to have it operable. Maybe there are other videos of it underway.