Opinions on the motorcycle market?

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

06VMAXIMUS

Reaction score
My son will graduate from high school this Spring, and has a desire to become a motorcycle mechanic/technician. I work as a school bus mechanic, so wrenching is also in my sons blood, and he enjoys working on anything with an engine. He wants to attend PSI (power sport institute) in Cleveland this Fall. Its very expensive, but within 45 minutes of our house which means he could commute and live at home for the 18 month program. They will train him in all the major Japanese brands of motorcycles, and also have a course for watercraft and snowmobiles. My concern is that the motorcycle repair/sales in this area is pretty much dead, due to the economy. Dealers in the area are not hiring....most have laid almost all of their employees off and are on the verge of closing. I have tried to explain to him that he will almost certainly have to move out of state to find work, but it doesn't seem to phase his quest. I guess my question to the forum is: What is your opinion of pursuing a career in the motorcycle industry, and how are things in your area doing? Thoughts?

You are correct about things being dead.

What also concerns me is the cost of the classes as you labeled them "very expensive".

I would nudge him into the direction of auto mechanics, for obvious reasons.

My best,
O

We have all had dreams and followed them (and I hope still do). We also have met naysayers and over-enthusiastic supporters...

I am happy to hear that your son has somehow taken after his dad in his passion for wrenching... There will always be work for someone with passion, high skills, persistence, and dedication to work.

I wish the best luck for you and your son!!!!

Cheers,
Amaury