Ordered Some Love for my K1500

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Redbone

Reaction score
I have been neglecting my trusty 1998 GMC Z71 for a couple years so I finally broke down and picked up some parts for her. She will still need a little more work after the front wheels get their love but since she's my second vehicle used mostly for haulin' trash, supplies for various projects around the homestead, two track fun and last but not least hunting. I screwed up and only ordered one each of the shocks so they will be on order shortly. I need to inspect the rear axle brakes and bearings still but the front right wheel bearing had bit the dust and she need brake rotors and pads badly so that's where I'm starting. I'm not too worried about the body as she is mostly solid and she will see many a tree narrowed two tracks that any body work would be wasted after one season. I also use it as a backup for my Terrain on those winter days when lake Superior like to dump 2'-3' of snow on us, which 'ol Black and Tan just motors on through.
Here is a couple picture of the girl and parts I picked up:

IMG_2543.jpg IMG_2544.jpg IMG_2542.jpg

Love my Silverado, Brian. And she's had new wheel bearings up front. I went with Timkin this time, because there is a lot of stress on them. They take care of us if we take care of them. Chevy LS motors rock. My Jeep GC struggled up big hills towing a trailer with my bike in it. The Silverado doesn't know it's even there.

Steve-o

The odometer reads just under 150k and she pulls my trailer (13x7 enclosed) easily as she should. This is the first time I've had to replace the wheel bearings although I replaced both of the Cv axle shafts, the LF twice. I had the transmission rebuilt at 65k and still going strong.

245 k on my '00 Z71 Tranny rebuilt at 165 k. No other issues of note.

Attachments

• # 1 Group Chip 030.jpg