Popping though carbs

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

[email protected]

Reaction score
I'm new to these bikes and I'm not sure what is normal. I have a 1986 Vmax and I have noticed that when idling if I crack the throttle and also on acceleration that I can hear a fairly faint popping what seems to be coming from under the air box. I'm wondering if it's an intake valve issue. If so, how much $$$ should I expect to pay for a valve job on that head. Also does the motor have to come out of the frame to do that?

Popping thru the intake is typically an indicator of a dirty pilot circuit or too lean of a setting on the AF screws.

Id try the shotgun and see if there is any improvement.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk

popping, no. When was the last time the carbs were synchronized? Also mine will try and do that occasionally if the idle is anything below ~1000. There are many more things that can do it but figured start with the easy-ish free stuff first. Also make sure it's running on all 4 cyl. I like to use the simple backyard downpipe spit sizzle test but an IR thermometer is ideal. It's surprising how well these bikes can run on only 3 cyl.

Another move you can try is to remove the airbox lid and with the bike idling, blip the throttle and see that all the slides are doing the same thing, . If there is no airbox lid it will run like crap, thats normal. Has it been sitting?

What are the modifications to the bike, exhaust system and that sort of stuff? Also if my answers fail to enchant there are wiser folks than myself rolling out of bed about now haha.

It's normal to hear some induction noises during hard acceleration, but it should not queef.