power seems down after stg 1 dynojet

Discussion in 'Carb/Tuning' started by mvvette97, May 28, 2007.

Help Support VMAX Motorcycle Forum by donating:

Tags:
  1. May 28, 2007 #1

    mvvette97

    mvvette97

    mvvette97

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leon Iowa
    I noticed it seems like it kinda falls on it's face in the upper rpm range since the dynojet. I put the needles and springs and drilled the slides and added the jets that it reccommended. I also have a dyna3000 and a Kerker 4 into 1 and a T-boost.. I really thought it ran better with the carbs stock. What do you guys think about this?:ummm:
     
  2. May 28, 2007 #2

    eatatjoz

    eatatjoz

    eatatjoz

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mayflower, Ar
    I don't believe in "jetting in a box".
    A re-jet, when done right, takes a little more effort than swapping stock parts out. The dynojet will get you close, but a little more fine tuning is usually required.
    A plug chop will show you what's going on in the upper limits, but on the streets it can be pretty illegal...
    If you have access to a Dyno with a wideband O2 sensor, that may be the way to go.

    As a general rule of thumb though, if it's struggling to MAKE more power on the high side, it's usually rich. If it's struggling to HOLD power, then it's probably lean.

    With my openion out of the way... add a little more information for your setup. Stock airbox? Aftermarket filter? What stage Dynojet?
    Maybe one of these guys has your set-up, and can point you in the right direction.
     
  3. May 28, 2007 #3

    maleko89

    maleko89

    maleko89

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,562
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Gretna, NE
    I heard that tboost doesn't work with the Dyna 3000.

    Mark
    #1098
     
  4. May 28, 2007 #4

    mvvette97

    mvvette97

    mvvette97

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leon Iowa
    really? Why is that?
     
  5. May 28, 2007 #5

    mvvette97

    mvvette97

    mvvette97

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leon Iowa
    it's just the stage 1 with the stock filter and air box.
     
  6. May 28, 2007 #6

    maleko89

    maleko89

    maleko89

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,562
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Gretna, NE
    Not sure, just remember hearing on the Yahoo list that it doesn't work. I'm not sure if it's all the different versions though. I would try unplugging that and see how it runs.

    Mark
    #1098
     
  7. May 28, 2007 #7

    eatatjoz

    eatatjoz

    eatatjoz

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mayflower, Ar
    If you put those Dynojet 160 mains in there with the stock air filter and air box, I bet you're too rich.
    You may want to put the 152.5's back in, and do a plug chop to see how close you are. Depending on the restriction of that Kerker (I've never owned one, so I can't say) you may have to drop as low as a 150 main.

    As far as the ignition and Vboost go... There is a lot of good information on the list, but I wouldn't stand on some of that stuff as gospel without first hand experience.
     
  8. May 28, 2007 #8

    mvvette97

    mvvette97

    mvvette97

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leon Iowa
    If I remember right I think I did put the 160s in. I may just put the smaller back in to see what it does.
     
  9. May 30, 2007 #9

    Lew L

    Lew L

    Lew L

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Messages:
    1,025
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Forest above Reno, Nv. USA
    Hi,
    Even the stock jets may be a bit rich. Next time I dive into the carbs I'm going down a jet size.( but I'm at 5,000 ft above sea level). My ZX 11 with a very free breathing pipe and intake system mods does very well with stock size jets and just a bit richer in the idle screw and needle jet position.
    Lew
     
  10. May 30, 2007 #10

    maleko89

    maleko89

    maleko89

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,562
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Gretna, NE
    What are your needles set at? Where in the rpm band does it fall on it's face?

    Mark
    #1098
     
  11. May 30, 2007 #11

    mvvette97

    mvvette97

    mvvette97

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leon Iowa
    I can't remember for sure on the position of the needles. I put them where the dynojet said to. I think it was second from the top.
    The power is nice and smooth till it gets about 8k then it almost feels like the the vboost goes back shut. It doesn't miss or sputter just feels like the vboost closes at the 8k and up. I can set and rev the engine and see the vboost opening but it's kinda hard to get on it and rev it past 8k and look down at the vboost.:biglaugh:
     
  12. May 30, 2007 #12

    shawn kloker

    shawn kloker

    shawn kloker

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    butler,pa.
    These are Dyno Jet 160's?
     
  13. May 30, 2007 #13

    shawn kloker

    shawn kloker

    shawn kloker

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Messages:
    2,860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    butler,pa.
    What do the spark plugs look like?
     
  14. May 30, 2007 #14

    mvvette97

    mvvette97

    mvvette97

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2007
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leon Iowa
    yes and the spark plugs look like they are kinda on the dark side.
     
  15. Jun 22, 2007 #15

    05#1763

    05#1763

    05#1763

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ct
    I just did a dynojet stage 1 and a kerker 2 days ago . I went with a 170 main jet and a 150 pilot. It ran like crap with the recommended 2 1/2 turns out . I called dynojet and spoke to tech support and the guy told me you could go out as much as 4 turns but no more than that. I ended up going 3 1/2 turns out and it screams . If you have your boost set to come on at 3000 it will stumble hard and then come on hard but its not worth it put it back to 6000 and you will have a smoother ride. Good luck I hope this helps:cheers:
     
  16. Jun 23, 2007 #16

    05#1763

    05#1763

    05#1763

    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ct
    After playing with the tuning 3 turns out seems to be best , good luck with it
     

Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

arrow_white