Question on Ignition Coils

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Marcmax

Reaction score
hey guys...newbie here in the forum. picked up this VMax a month ago. Opened her up to jump start but then noticed after it started that sparks flying from the two ignition coils below. Then realized that the cable that connects the coils and cover has been cut. By the way, she rides ok before the battery went dead. im guessing there has been some re-wiring but not sure what has been done. might need to find the number for the original owner. any idea what might be going on here ?
IMG_2370.jpg

Looks like your coils have been replaced, probably with COP's (coil-over-plugs). Their high-tension leads aren't on the coils.

the cable that connects the coils and cover has been cut: I'm assuming that you're referring to the high-tension lead from the ignition coils, where it passes through the black plastic heat insulation covers over the cylinder heads and then to the spark plugs in the heads. The two wires from each of the wire harness pairs of wires running to the ignition coils have to be fastened to the COP's to 'fire' them. The two-wire plastic plugs going to the ignition coils should be disconnected from the stock ignition coils, if the COP's system has been installed. That would be a real 'jury-rig' if some shadetree mechanic just left them connected to the ignition coils, and spliced into those wires to connect to the COP's, while removing the OEM ignition coils' high-tension leads.