Rear shocks: height and model choice

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ninjaneer

Reaction score
I've installed a set of Progressive springs and internally lowered the front end an inch. I want to upgrade the rear with a set of Progressives. My first question is: what are the goods and or bads of choosing a pair of 11 or 11.5 inchers, or is it best to level out the bike with 12s? being able to put my feet on the ground is not a problem and I'm thinking of lowering the seat just for looks alone. I'm more thinking of wanting to smooth out the ride and being able to hug the corners, even though i'm still a novice and am so not a canyon carver. That leads into the second question: what does it matter with selecting the "good", "better", or "best" of Progressive's lineup by an enthusiastic rookie, who has put over 10k on the clock the past year, but will probably not be trying to win a mountain rally any time soon

Sent from my Tapatalking Hercules Android

I'm no suspension expert, but this is the way I'm looking at my mods, in a sort of general way.

I think the seating position of a sports bike puts more weight over the front wheel, and there is less rake on the forks. That makes the front end handle better. To me, less rake is like the swept back wings on a fighter jet. More unstable means quicker turning.

From what you are saying, you want it to be a bit more like a sports bike.
Soooo, to get the weight further over the front wheel, people will use drag bars and rearsets to pivot the torso further forward. Also lower the back less than the front to decrease the rake on the front forks.

Don't lower the back too much, because then it's becoming more like an Orange County Chopper. Yuck.

Also, a better handling bike is better for all riders, so no improvements will be wasted!