Round 2: Hyundai Elantra vs Honda Civic

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Shuriken

Reaction score
4 door sedans:

MPG - about the same
Power - comparible
Reliability - debateable
Size - about the same
Features - not the same
Safety - not the same

Some of the pros about the Civic (IMO) are that it is proven and reliable. Some of the pros I think I've found about eh Elantra is that it is loaded with features (ABS, front and front-side airbags, power everything, traction control, etc.

Some of the cons I've found about the Civic are that it has substantial road noise and might be a bit underpowered. Some of the cons I've found about the Elantra are mostly reported as problems with Hyundai.

The Elantra cars are much cheaper but provide more features. Of course, this is only of use if the car doesn't break down once a month.

I have a lot of experience with Honda so I'm really only interested in knowing what you all know about Hyundai or the Elantra specifically.

I'm looking at 2004 models.

My sister and husband are all abot hyundai's, I think the are scrap. I fixed his brakes and drove it 20 miles to their house and though i was going to find my filling in my mouth, that was a 2001 with 56K on it. They now have the high end one and it's nice, but you can get a lot nicer cars for the same money. They aso have a 07 santa fe, she like it, but i drove it once and though it was exremely cheaply made. As much as i hate honduh's i would pick them over hyundai any day.

While Hyundai's have come a LONG way, they still aren't Hondas. Their higher end cars like the Genesis are MUCH better than any car they've ever made but still not as nice as the cars they compare to. Hyundai's are usually less expensive and the residual on them is of course less as well.