Rusty Tank... V-Max is NOW a project

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nick.

Reaction score
Sorry for posting so much guys but I'm new to yamaha and V-max as a whole but I got my little pen light to work today and boom, rust in the tank. What's the best way to go about this? Take it out, drain it, swish acetone, put some nails and meuric acid in there and slosh it around, drain, clean, and kream? Or should I just get a new tank all together?

Personally I'd get another tank because every little microscopic bit of dirt in the carbs causes huge headaches later on. :bang head: You can try getting the tank creamed too as some have had success with that too.

I would only use the tank liner as a LAST resort. I would either replace the tank as Buster mentioned or get yourself some Sodium Carbonate, a tub of water, and a battery charger...

http://www.rowand.net/Shop/Tools/Electrolysis.htm

This is a GREAT way to remove rust and leaves the good metal alone. But after you have done this, your take is now unprotected, so keep it full of gas or the rust will most likely come back.​

fuck man its an '07 with 1200 miles. i'd snag that in a hearbeat, hopefully thats ur bid.

My Max was stored on lake front property...the tank was RUINED! I used this...cheap and easy.Kream is a bull shit solution that takes too long with too many steps,the only reason EVERYONE uses it is because its easy to find.This stuff is better,believe me. Ive used it to treat 3 bikes,one was so rusty we had to chisel the gas cap and sending unit out because they were rusted into the tank.This stuff saved them with NO problems.Its been around for a long time,all the old school hot rodders use it.

http://www.por15.com/POR-15/productinfo/1GB/