Sticking throttle

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

AZ-VMAX

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2019
Messages
6
Reaction score
0
So out of nowhere I went to go on a ride and when I twist the throttle it stays where it was twisted to unless manually twisted back. No mods or work have been done recently so I’m not sure what the problem could be. It worked fine last time I had it out a couple days ago

any help is much appreciated
 

Parminio

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
1,418
Reaction score
954
Location
Suwanee, Georgia
Sounds like your return cable is broken or bound up somehow. There are two cables that attach to the carbs. The junction box for them is under the left side air scoop. I would start there.
 

DreamV4

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 30, 2021
Messages
1,041
Reaction score
278
There are 2 short cables about 10", attached to throttle. Recently I "unfreezed" one of them. 99% you have cable problem, 1% throttle axles (not likely).
Usually return cable goes bad, you can remove it and ride w/o, but it is dangerous. Oiling cables is maintenance procedure, almost nobody does it.
 

maleko89

Moderator
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Mar 30, 2006
Messages
6,848
Reaction score
279
Location
Gretna, NE
Probably not the issue since it happened on the fly but check the cable routing. It can get pinched. Try loosening the cable adjuster near throttle grip to see if it snaps back.
 

Fire-medic

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Messages
13,299
Reaction score
2,894
Location
Miami Florida
If a cable loses integrity, where the broken strands are rubbing on the cable sheath helix, it's gonna-be sticky. My experience is that cables usually wear at the point of attachment where the ends are fastened. I would check there, so you have 8 points as there are two upper cables and two lower cables.

A pinched cable casing can cause stickiness, where the metal helix lumen (opening) is crushed onto the cable. The back of the service manual has cable routing instructions, and it's on here. http://vmoa.net/VMX12-Service-Manual01.pdf

Throttle cables need slack to operate without drag. You can prove this yourself by removing the slack, and experiencing the lack of the throttle to snap-shut. Introduce some slack, and the cable returns to normal function.

I use a clamp-on cable lube tool, into which you place a red lubricant wand, to shoot your favorite lubricant from a spray can. I'm partial to WD-40, but use your favorite snake-oil. I bet it's 40 years old, and it still works fine.
 
Last edited:

CostalGrey

Well-Known Member
Supporting Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2019
Messages
292
Reaction score
240
Location
CAPE SABLE ISLAND. NOVA SCOTIA
If a cable loses integrity, where the broken strands are rubbing on the cable sheath helix, it's gonna-be sticky. My experience is that cables usually wear at the point of attachment where the ends are fastened. I would check there, so you have 8 points as there are two upper cables and two lower cables.

A pinched cable casing can cause stickiness, where the metal helix lumen (opening) is crushed onto the cable. The back of the service manual has cable routing instructions, and it's on here. http://vmoa.net/VMX12-Service-Manual01.pdf

Throttle cables need slack to operate without drag. You can prove this yourself by removing the slack, and experiencing the lack of the throttle to snap-shut. Introduce some slack, and the cable returns to normal function.

I use a clamp-on cable lube tool, into which you place a red lubricant wand, to shoot your favorite lubricant from a spray can. I'm partial to WD-40, but use your favorite snake-oil. I bet it's 40 years old, and it still works fine.

Agree100% on the cable luber make it religion 1 time a year
 

02GF74

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
1,501
Reaction score
706
Location
UK
Check the throttle handle is not binding against the switch module.
 

Fire-medic

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Messages
13,299
Reaction score
2,894
Location
Miami Florida
Check the throttle handle is not binding against the switch module.
That's why many grips come with a slippery, thin nylon sleeve to eliminate friction between the grip cushion and the switch pod.
 

Parminio

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 22, 2016
Messages
1,418
Reaction score
954
Location
Suwanee, Georgia
That's why many grips come with a slippery, thin nylon sleeve to eliminate friction between the grip cushion and the switch pod.
The idiots that built my bike cut the grip off horribly so it has NO CHANCE of ever doing that. (Seriously. It was butchered.) It's one of the reasons I wanted a new pair of grips but never found anything I liked.

Edit to add image:

20210818_144601.jpg

Seriously. Look at the size of the gap. No chance that binds up.
 

Fire-medic

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Mar 25, 2011
Messages
13,299
Reaction score
2,894
Location
Miami Florida
The idiots that built my bike cut the grip off horribly so it has NO CHANCE of ever doing that. (Seriously. It was butchered.) It's one of the reasons I wanted a new pair of grips but never found anything I liked.

Edit to add image:

View attachment 79114

Seriously. Look at the size of the gap. No chance that binds up.
Somehow that picture of your handgrip reminds me of David Letterman.

dave letterman.jpg
 

02GF74

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2020
Messages
1,501
Reaction score
706
Location
UK
I envy your bright red button, do you not ride it in the sun? (
Mine has horribly faded to pink)
 

Latest posts

Top