technological stupid

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tothemax93

Reaction score
I work for a heavy highway construction. We do work on any given thruways, state roads etc. This summer we are milling/paving interstate 90 between interstate 190 and the clarance toll boths. (for you local guys). It's the busy section that goes by malls, airport exit, etc. I'm a truck driver and am the guy who sets the work zones. When you see orange cones, thats me. So we have a right lane closed. We have to build the exits and on ramps accordingly, and I completely understand that it can be confusing. The speed limits are dropped to 45 so you have more time navigate. Like clockwork we have cars drive into our workzone, on our new blacktop, and put all of us in danger, that are working in there. The funny part is the cones are about 40 ft apart, so they have to slow way down just to turn into it. A few nights ago, it was especially bad with cars pull in. I stopped a car in the zone and our conversation gave me a light bulb moment. His Quote " my GPS said I should be in this lane" He completely Ignored the lead in signs, all the signs in the zones helping to guide you, flashing lights on all our trucks, etc. The same night a different guy had a similar experience. The lady said her Tom-Tom said to be in this lane. He asked her if her Tom-Tom new we were paving that lane tonight, only in not such a nice way. We've had a few complaints to the thruway from drivers about the construction guys that yelled, swore at them. I didn't mention this but we work from 7 at night to around 7 in the morning. So I'm thinking a lot of these people are so dependent on there GPS that any common sense goes out the window.