Top 3 ways to get burned on a used V-Max?

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jayhawk

Supporting Member
Reaction score
I'm still looking for that perfect deal on a low-miles used bike. (Why are there so many used bikes for sale in the NE, yet here in the Dallas area..nearly zippo? ;) )

Since I'm a complete noob, how about providing your top 3 things that might be missed by a novice when looking at a Max.

Thanks!

I actually bought my bike in Arlington. I live just east of Houston.
I found it in the Auto trader. I found only two used bikes to look at; one was a beater some dealer had and the other was the one I bought.
The only thing I have to offer is try to buy one that has not been modified in any way. I'll probably change my tune on that when I go to sell mine but I prefer to buy something and modify it myself rather than hope that someone else did it right.
To me most people that modify bikes drive the holy crap out of them (I know I do) and although I ride my bike like that I would not want to buy one that somone else rode that way.
1 Try not to buy anything that has ever been down.
2 Look for signs that the motor has been opened up.
3 Be damn sure you have a good, clear title.

Have someone check it out to make sure the frame is straight.

1. Make sure that the title is clear and actually matches the Bike numbers.
2. Make sure the bike has not been down, look for any small marks in the frame that would give it away. Things that should not be there.
3. Certain mods are ok, If they added a fork brace, changed the seat or added other items ok, But if the engine has been modded or opend up it is one I would avoid.