Trailer Question

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

95spfldmax

Reaction score
Ok......big road trip coming up (big for me). About 1500 miles round trip.

I put 2 new tires on my 7' x 8' flat bed open trailer (4.00 x 4.80 x 8"). Beads wouldn't seal so I put in tubes. Tires say Max Load of 750lbs @ 90PSI.

Question One: For Max Load I multiply 750lbs x 2 tires for 1500lbs total? I'm only bringing Max and a box full of accessories so maybe 625 + 100 lbs....Plenty of margin?

Question Two: I'm not really running these things at 90lbs (got 30lbs in them at the moment). What is the correct tire pressure w/tubes? Somewhere between 35 & 90? Probably run them about 50lbs?

If you don't run the rated pressures then the load is reduced. An 8" tire seems a bit small. Does a 12" tire/wheel fit, or better-yet, a 13"? I am not a tire expert but the larger diameter will slow the speed of the wheel, and reduce the likelihood of overheating. You should carry two spares. Tires should seal assuming the tires are tubeless unless there is some incompatibility between your wheels and tires. Running tubes in tubeless tires I believe will also reduce your load rating. Sounds like you have two strikes against you, tires that don't fit correctly and small wheels in the summer w/tubes inside tubeless tires. The tire needs to be able to get rid of heat from their flexing as they rotate, and the tube won't allow as-efficient a heat transfer to occur. This is only my opinion.

I'd try to get a bigger wheel/tire combo in there w/tires that are properly-fitted to the wheels.

I also agree w/my friend "alorio1." Add the trailer weight.