Voltage Regulator Removal??? WTF???

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

johnblaid

Reaction score
uh...noob here. I have a new battery but the charging rate almost non existent. Multi meter shows this.

I looked for the voltage regulator "behind the left rear passenger peg.

It's there, I see three white wires and one red wire and they go up to where somebody cut out the connector and did a horrid job. while trying to remove the electrical tape (never should have used that...should have used professional connectors) one of the connections broke. it was being held on by only one strand of the wire.

I have a feeling that's my problem but if not, everybody seems to think that replacing the old regulator with a newer type is the way to go while I'm at it and i agree.

PROBLEM:

after locating the regulator, it would appear that it is attached by one phillips screw and to access that I would have to remove the rear wheel and possibly the exaust system.

I'm sure I'm wrong about that.

Somebody tell me I'm wrong.

(About to set fire to bike and walk away)