Winter checklist: Paint prep and color.

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

caseyjones955

Reaction score
I got Maxine inside and about ready to begin my winter checklist of upgrades. I have the progressive fork springs, seals and oil thanks to Sean for the great videos and parts btw. I hope to have it painted when my new Maxgasser arrives. This is all she needs.

Here is the only thing, I'm a little muddy on paint prep. It is the carbon fiber, hazy and cloudy with a 5" gouge in the rear fender maybe 0.30" deep at the deepest point. I plan to fill with Bondo and rough up everything with maybe 400 to take a painted finish. In case it is not obvious im a body/paint noob. Im leaning towards a turquoise blue, for safety reasons I dont want to go with a dark color. I have not seen one like this so welcome opinions on how that might look.

I plan to rattle can it. I repainted my flaking Lexus front bumper after going to a bodyshop and the guy came out with a camera apparatus and sampled the paint, 45 minutes later I had two rattle cans they made to match exactly and it went on so damn well and the finished product is amazing, it looks almost pro but wifey and I spent a lot of time prepping it. It changed my opinion of rattlecans for small areas like bike parts perhaps. I plan to go back and choose the paint and do my max the same way.

Is 400 grit and bondo appropriate? The guy told me that he uses no clearcoat but just polishes the paint. It worked great on the car but I cant suppress the feeling that I should clearcoat it to as I ride in all weather and all summer so it is not garaged. I know about spraying in sterile ventilated space but if anyone has anything to add I'm all ears. I dont expect ot to look like a showbike but I want an attractive durable finish.