Clash of Cultures - U.S. & Hungary

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lotsokids

Reaction score
As you can see in my profile, I live and work in Hungary. My family and I are the first and only Americans to live in our tiny village near the town where I work as an aircraft mechanic. I humbly admit I am blessed to have a job that pays well, but I live in this small village surrounded by rather poor farmers. I've lived here for nearly 6 years now. So many times I try to find ways to help my neighbors with yard work or buying stuff for them from the "bread truck" that rolls through our village every Saturday afternoon. Hungary was under Communism until 1989, but much of the same way of life continues. Under Communism, people were forced to do for others like take care of land or livestock. So I can understand that when I do something for them, they certainly feel obligated to repay me somehow. They do not understand that I absolutely expect no form of repayment.

- The bread truck. I often try to wait for my neighbor to order his bread, then I pay for it. It's usually less than the equivalent of $2. That's beans to me, but substantial for him. The last couple weeks he demanded to pay for MY order. I said "No, it's O.K." This resulted in a shoving match (with good attitude), and he physically held me back while his elderly widowed mother paid. You can probably picture this in your mind.

- I occasionally mow and trim the ditch near the road in front of the neighbor's house while I'm doing mine... it's just a couple more minutes. Because fuel is so expensive here (over $7/gallon), they trim the ditch by hand with a knife or sickle. Today I found MY ditch trimmed. I've got a weed-eater and could have done it in a few seconds. But I know they worked hard at it.

I love these people, but it's awkward to try to be a blessing to them. :confused2: