Half throttle sputter/hiccup when vboost hits

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Triiodide

Reaction score
Hey everybody about a month ago I picked up a 2000 VMAX that had some issues for a great deal!
So I went to look at it under the impression it needed a carb clean, it would bog and fall on it's face over half throttle (which seemed odd because mains take a long time to clog) was told it was all stock, had a brand new stock air filter the stock exhaust. I'm actually a motorcycle tech and have been working on bikes for close to 10 years now. A few years back I worked on a VMAX and was hooked after the test ride.
As soon as I rode it I could tell it was extremely rich over about half throttle so I took it home! I pulled the top of the airbox off and took it for a quick test ride with open stacks and it absolutely ripped. I figured I'll just put some pods on it and it should be pretty close, and thought that it may have been jetted for mods that had since been removed to sell the bike as stock.