not the typical steering head bearing question

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ninjaneer

Reaction score
so it seems that i'm retorquing the bearings a lot like every 500 miles--this doesn't seem right to me. idk how many miles it should be in general, but 500 seems problematic. i'm being realistic and not dreaming of never having to revisit the steering head bearings, but hold long should one expect between retorques?

i studied the manual and it stated to make sure that the ring nut are screwed in with the tapered side up. my top one was upside down. but idk, would an upside top ring nut not hold the bottom ring nut down such that it remains torqued properly?

i recently upgraded to Progressive springs which is showing signs that i installed them with too much compression damping and as such am in process of fine tuning the forks. could the overly compression damping add to or be the root issue to my problem of not being able to keep the steering heads torqued down?

so it seems that i'm retorquing the bearings a lot like every 200-300 miles--maybe 400-500--in any case this doesn't seem right to me. idk how many miles it should be in general, but 400-500 seems problematic. i'm being realistic and not dreaming of never having to revisit the steering head bearings, but hold long should one expect between retorques?

i studied the manual and it stated to make sure that the ring nut are screwed in with the tapered side up. my top one was upside down. but idk, would an upside top ring nut not hold the bottom ring nut down such that it remains torqued properly?