speed wobbles!!!

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

65fury

Reaction score
Hey guys im new to the motorcycle world and after replacing all my bearings and seals and crap im getting speed wobbles at around 105mph under hard acceleration :damn angry: not cool and very scary. What causes speed wobble? I have brand new metzlers front and rear, had the Yamaha shop balance BOTH wheels, also rebuilt my forks and put on new brakes(busa calipers, glafer rotors)

Thanks

Jason

Check/adjust your steering bearings. Remove front wheel and forks and feel for any notchiness. Lower the stem and check the outer races for wear marks. Do the bounce test and tighten the ring nuts until it's good.

Check/adjust your steering bearings. Remove front wheel and forks and feel for any notchiness. Lower the stem and check the outer races for wear marks. Do the bounce test and tighten the ring nuts until it's good.

Ive done bounce test(watched Seans video of it) and i did exactly what he did:biglaugh: the bearings are brand new so i hope they didnt go bad yet!:rofl_200: before i pulled the bike apart i did 120mph and didnt have the slightest wobble, and when i did the bounce test(before installing any new bearings) it was really loose! plus the tires i had were just regular old dunlops that liked to follow every groove in the road, i just cant figure why after doing all new bearings im getting a wobble, would the new tires do that? thanks

Jason

Are the Metz tires spec'd to oem, or larger? I would tend to look to the tires as the wobble source, that's the only area of major change.

Edit: Does the wobble happen only under hard accelleration?

What air pressures are you running in tires?

-35psi front and rear
-im running a 120/90 18 in the front and a 170/80 15 in the rear