Valve clearance.

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rusty McNeil

Reaction score
Is the tool called for in the manual for depressing the valves while setting valve clearance absolutely needed or is there a way to "poor boy" this job?

Also; are the clearances called out in the book good ones?

Any other advice would be appreciatted also. I've never done the valves on this bike before, but used to do my old V65 TOO frequently:bang head: It had rocker arms and mechanical adjustment on the rocker tips like a solid lift SBC. never dealt with the whole Shim/Bucket thing.

Thanks,

Rusty

Rusty,

Did my valve clearances last year and that tool is damn nice to have!! You can get one from Yamaha fairly reasonably priced, think it was only $16.50 Cdn or something fairly close to that so should be much cheaper for you in the US. Used the manual for putting in the proper spacers and worked out quite well. Will be doing my own again over the winter once the new engine needs it done.

Rusty, the tool is necessary. I got it from University for $30. The tool depresses the valve bucket. This gives you clearance to remove the shim.

I have some notes at home I can email you.

I ensure each intake clearance is the same and do the same for the exhaust valves. I shoot for .004 inch intake clearance and .011 inches for exhaust.

Make sure you have a good pick tool to remove the shims and also an automotive pickup magnet to make it easy to remove the shims.

You'll need a 32 mm socket to turn the crank from the left side. Just remove the two allen screws holding the inner crankcase cover on.