Cleaning and Synch'ing Carbs

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zippo6

Reaction score
Ok, so my Carbtune Pro has arrived and I've finally got time to go at the carbs....

I'll preface with the following statement: I've never done this before and know nothing more that what I have researched on this forum and on the net. However I feel confident enough that I'm not 'afraid' to try. :)

Here is my thought process:
I've never used a carbtune before, but it seems simple enough. So rather than remove the carbs and clean them THEN sync, I intend to sync them first. Besides, I want a baseline to see if the carbs are, in fact, the cause of my shitty performance when the bike is hot and at a low idle.

Once I get them synched I'll take her for a ride and see what improvements it has made. Since I have no faith in what maintence the PO did (aside from changing oil), I have no idea if the carbs have ever been cleaned or synched (it's an '02). Then I'll yank the carbs off and clean them following the shotgun method, order parts if neccesary, put 'em back on and synch again.

With any luck, this will resolve the @idle issue that seems to be getting worse.... or perhaps I'm riding the bike harder... who knows...

Anyway, it is THIS FORUM AND ALL YOU GUYS (special attention to Mark Milne for the How-To's!!!) that are making it possible for guys like me to take this stuff on! Otherwise, I'd be taking the bike to the stealership and we all know how that would end up.... :bang head:

Ok, so my Carbtune Pro has arrived and I've finally got time to go at the carbs....

I'll preface with the following statement: I've never done this before and know nothing more that what I have researched on this forum and on the net. However I feel confident enough that I'm not 'afraid' to try. :)

Here is my thought process: