Help!

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

motomick76

Reaction score
:bang head::bang head:

I have been adjusting the float levels and trying to get my carbs right for over a week now. I have had the carbs off close to a dozen times, and I am hitting the wall. Took bike for test run and sputters and spits from 2000 on up. I suspect the float levels. Friday I checked and 3 and 4 were at 16 mm. 1 and 2 were at 20mm. I readjusted 1 and 2 and it still was at 20mm yesterday. No change. Now I check 3 and 4, the fuel pump runs longer and I put the tube next to the carb and the fuel level doesnt even reach the bottom diaphram screw.

WHO can I call or IM to resolve this issue? I have been tinkering with bikes for 15 years and this one is beating me.

Sorry, I have to vent. :bang head::bang head:

Do I just need to buy parts, start spending money? I would like to fingdroot of problem before I spend money.

What gives with this forum? I PM Sean last night about some of my problems. I have spent all week and weekend working on this bike, in my garage. Is somebody gonna be able to help me, or do i need to find other sources? There is not much riding time in Minnesota, and it frustrates me to see it go to waste.

Just be honest.

motomick76

How do you know if the floats are moving freely with the covers on? Are you testing float level with an external tank? Carbs shouldn't even go back on the bike until floats are checked on the bench. Blow into each carb vent...shouldn't hold vacuum. Turn upside down and do the same.

Is there anybody I can call or IM? I have done the dry bench adjustment as indicated by this forum. I have a previous post of my experiences. Then I assemble and check wet as indicated with clear hose by this forum.