Who do you trust to install and balance tires on new Powdercoated wheels?

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AMechEng

Reaction score
I've had a lot of bad experiences with people damaging the finish on wheels when installing new tires. So who do you trust to do this without damaging the finish on a wheel?:ummm:

I take my wheels to Competition Cycle Center 1001 Old Griffin Rd Dania Beach FL 33004 & if you go on Sat, be sure & make the two mile trip into Dania Beach to the AMCA meet at Frost Park (posted in events)

'Newt' is the resident tire changer. He was a Yamaha factory mechanic for years, and has worked at this business for about as-long. If you go inside there is plenty of knowlegable assistance, Gabriel, Mikey, Cliff, all w/lots of knowlege about their products & the showroom/warehouse is probably 15,000 sq ft. Helmets, clothing, boots, gloves, tires, batteries, lighting, oil, etc... he will take care of your painted, anodized, or plated rims.

I've had a lot of bad experiences with people damaging the finish on wheels when installing new tires. So who do you trust to do this without damaging the finish on a wheel?:ummm:
After getting my polished wheels gaffed up by two local cycle shops I bought some spoons and rim protectors from Motion Pro. A truing stand comes in handy too. No-one loves your bike like you do.
Not all shops are bad though. Guys like Garrett are considerate of your wheels, and have good equipment.

I'm fixing to find out, hopefully this weekend, whether or not I can trust ME with the re-install of Shala's GenII rubber on her newly re-powdered wheels. I'm a bit nervous myself. I use a Mojolever - with the nylon protectors on both ends - but still very apprehensive.