Question about Bike's Year and Fuel used

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

D-Max2012

Reaction score
Question guys.
The Clymer manual for the 91 states that the bike is recommends regular fuel, and no higher ethanol use than E10.
It seems that the majority of people are running high octane.
Can you post your year and fuel type use?

Use regular. Stock motor does not need any higher octane. Year doesn't matter. Runs better with recommended octane. Don't understand why many waste their money for poorer results.

I've been running 87 Octane in my 2000 for over 12 years now.
I figure the engineers at Yamaha knew what they were talking about when they recommended 87 Octane.

Last edited:
This label is under the seat in plain view on my gen two. I never run regular because it says 91 MINIMUM OCTANE

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    56.4 KB · Views: 44
Use regular. Stock motor does not need any higher octane. Year doesn't matter. Runs better with recommended octane. Don't understand why many waste their money for poorer results.
+1 . Regular(87) is just fine. Just treat with Seafoam (or equivalent), if you are
going to lay up the bike for more than a month or so. Better still, fill the tank with non -ehtanol gasoline, and start and warm it up at least once a week.
Just what has "worked for me"
Cheers!

I'm wondering which Octane Rating, matches more closely to the regular O.R. Yamaha designed Gen1's to run on. We now have an additive that alters that number. Ethanol.

87 in my 85 I found a gas station that sells regular 87 octane but it's 20 miles away and almost .23 cents more then ethanol . Must be cause their close to summit point raceway wva . I'm going see if running regular improves performance and mileage .

I'm going see if running regular improves performance and mileage.

This is the primary reason why I posted this question.