High miles for a Max?

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Boomer

Reaction score
Hey everyone; newbie here, but been riding bikes for many years.

I've made the decision to trade my sport bike for a 1st gen V-Max, after wanting one for years. (Like most of you I'd guess.)

I've done a lot of reading and research, and feel pretty comfortable with it, but just wanted to get input on what is considered too-high mileage for a Max?

I found one I really like, an '05 20th anniv model that is in outstanding shape, but it has 17k miles. I am guessing he rode it daily to work or something to get 17k miles in 3 years. Traded for a cruiser I believe.

Assuming scheduled maintenance was done, and I do the normal checks to assure it's in good shape, is this a red flag in of itself?

On the surface it doesn't seem like it, but I see most others have less, so just want to be sure it's not a mistake, based on mileage alone.

Thanks, and apologies up front if this was asked 3x last week, sigh. I hate that too, so tried looking but didn't see a similar question recently.

Hi and welcome to the site:clapping:

First the VMAX cant stand abuse like a sportbike such as a GSXR.. You can bounce the GSXR off its rev limiter and it doesnt faze it.. You over rev a VMAX a few times and you will be replacing the crank and bearings..
Just as any motorcycle you buy it depends on how well it was taken care of..

the 05 is a good year and Yamaha has worked all the weak known links out.

I have heard of VMAXs with over 85K miles on them and still going strong..
And there are VMAX's like mine on its 4th engine since 2000..