Exhaust leak help

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JP168

Reaction score
Hey all, I’m pretty new to my gen 2. I picked it up in February. It’s a 2009 with UFO 4into1 exhaust. On the right rear area I feel air when the engine is running. I figure it’s an exhaust leak but it’s not as obvious as one would think.

This style exhaust is new to me so bear with me please. Where the two rear head pipes join the pipe to the muffler, there’s a joint that appears to have no clamp or weld. Just looks like a press fit?? I think this is where the leak of from, but if so how do you fix it? Since there’s no clamp or broken weld, I can’t see how one would prevent a leak at this joint.
Any help would be much appreciated!!!

Maybe check with Star Rider Performance in Ohio , I think Mike Lees is still the owner and he has tons of experience with the V-Max Mike worked for UFO and Jon Cornell that is why I say give him a call . I think he designed the pipe also but not sure .

Maybe check with Star Rider Performance in Ohio , I think Mike Lees is still the owner and he has tons of experience with the V-Max Mike worked for UFO and Jon Cornell that is why I say give him a call . I think he designed the pipe also but not sure .
Awesome! Thanks for the info, I’ll reach out to them and see if they can help.

if it's just a 'snug' fit and it leaks what I'd normally do is pull it apart and smear some silicone engine gasket around it and push it back together, then let it set for a couple of hours

I have a hindle 4-1. I STILL used the the clamp and the gasket. With any of the aftermarket exhaust that I know of for the gen 2, you still use the 2 stock down pipes on the back of the engine, and just tie in two half pipes. Make sense?

Its #1 on drawing for partzilla. Do you have something different?