Gurue ECU?

Discussion in 'General VMax Questions' started by rebeltaz83, Dec 24, 2019.

Help Support VMAX Motorcycle Forum by donating:

  1. Jan 9, 2020 #41

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    Yeah, I'll pay the $550 so I don't have to $850 and have it done it twice. I really want it Dyno tuned specifically for my setup, but without taking it to Tim, I don't think anybody else is gonna spend the time, plus they might not be able to get into every part of the ECU like Tim has. It's just such a rare bike, that nobody really understands it like we do. The twitchy throttle is annoying, but I'm used to it. It's the bigger bumps that I hate. Especially when your cruising, enjoying yourself, and Bam a big bump upsets the bike, you flutter the throttle, and messes with your zen, lol. And speedo I hate, I have to run 60 to do 55 I just run 70 on the speedo in 55s lol. But mostly I run with traffic, I won't gain on the car in front, but I won't fall behind either lol. They make a speedo healer, but you gotta splice into the harness, it's only one wire, but still. I need the gurued ECU, so I can get that stupid ais turned off to stop it from popping out the exhaust Everytime I slow down, plus all the other goodies that are thrown in to the flash lol.
     
  2. Jan 9, 2020 #42

    Ukemax

    Ukemax

    Ukemax

    Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Mchenry County, Illinois
    rebeltaz83 likes this.
  3. Jan 11, 2020 #43

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    If I disable the ais, do I need the plug kit? Also I have the exup cables tied up, can I remove those after the flash? I remember reading something about the plug in for the servo. About having to use a bypass plug so it doesn't kick a trouble code or something like that, it just fools the ECU into thinking that it's still hooked up and working.
     
  4. Jan 11, 2020 #44

    Itgoes

    Itgoes

    Itgoes

    Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,815
    Likes Received:
    184
    Location:
    NY
    If you request it the AIS will be disabled and turned off.

    The EXUP is disabled on all the tunes I beleive so no dummy plug is needed.
     
    rebeltaz83 likes this.
  5. Jan 11, 2020 #45

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    Thanks Mark!! Pulling it out tomorrow, and sending it out Monday. Placing my order tomorrow also, online.
     
  6. Jan 12, 2020 #46

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    Got my ECU boxed up, with a release signed, and a paper with bike info, my info, and pay pal transaction number. $26 for $800 insurance so I get a free ECU if it gets lost. Shipping it out tomorrow. Hopefully someone is around, it requires a signature to be delivered. Now I just hurry up and wait lol.
    Edit: he received it, and updated my status it's on the queue list so it won't be much longer.
     
    Last edited: Jan 15, 2020
    TK3333 likes this.
  7. Jan 16, 2020 #47

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    ECU is flashed, passed the tests, and is on its way back, should be here Saturday but it's gonna be raining. Sunday is supposed to be cooler, but I'll get it in and see how it performs. Stoked!!!! Is it Saturday yet?? Lol.
     
    Traumahawk and Itgoes like this.
  8. Jan 17, 2020 #48

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    So what am I looking at as far as HP/TQ numbers at the rear now with just the flash? +10? I know some gained allot 195-197 at the rear. But I don't know what setup they have.
     
  9. Jan 17, 2020 #49

    Traumahawk

    Traumahawk

    Traumahawk

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7,772
    Likes Received:
    78
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    I should have that info for you in a couple of weeks. About a year and a half ago, I dynod the 2011 when I got it and it was stock....100% stock. Hp was 170 and 108 lbs TQ. After the reflash (and TT airbox mod, and 4-1 exhaust, 176 hp and 114 TQ. A/F almost all the way thru the run was 12.3-12.5.....rich. Last week I changed the plugs. MAJOR difference with the new plugs. When I get back home, I plan on dynoing again, and see the difference.

    When you speak with Tim, he will tell you that the reflash is set up a bit rich.....because he doesnt know where you will ride, and being on the rich side is considered safe (thats why he says to get the most HP out of it you need a PCV to fine tune it. Max HP should be with an A/F of 13.2 to 13.6) Now that being said, I also have an autotune as well, and in the upper RPM range, its automatically set for an A/F of 13.2. But, the standard rule......you should be 180 to 190hp with no additional tuning and just the reflash.

    Hope this helps.
     
    rebeltaz83 likes this.
  10. Jan 17, 2020 #50

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    Cool, it's about what I was expecting. Thanks!!!
     
  11. Jan 18, 2020 #51

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    Finally received it!! cold rainy day so I'll put it in tomorrow, and see how it runs.
     

    Attached Files:

    Itgoes likes this.
  12. Jan 19, 2020 at 12:01 PM #52

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    rebeltaz83

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2013
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    Anderson, SC
    According to the butt Dyno, lol it's a night and day difference. When it would barley do a rolling burnout in 1st gear, to pegging the Rev limiter in 2nd gear doing a rolling burnout....I could prolly grab 3rd......... Idle is smoother, idle is different in a good way. AIS being closed no more popping on de-cel, the engine braking being tamed down is nice, no more "bracing for it". Got 50 miles in, what a ride. Money well spent, glad I did some research, and digging, and thanks to everyone who put their 2 cents in. Now I'll save for a PC-V and a Dyno run to tune it in......... Might as well get all I can. Feel free to post your HP numbers so I know what I can expect from mine. My setup: voodoo 4 to 2 with de-cat, and modified air box with K&N, gurued ECU.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2020 at 1:51 PM
    TK3333 likes this.

Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Group Builder
Group Builder
arrow_white