Hi all - new owner from UK

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StanUK

Reaction score
Hi all - long time rider, first time Max owner on the East coast of the UK. I've had an itch for one of these since I started riding - my other big bike is off the road and I figured it was now or never before Ms Thunberg makes us all eat tofu and drive electric 👹. Mine's a full power 1990 US import.

It's benched at the moment with snags and needs a damned good service before I trust it. I'm no wrench guy but all the shops here seem to fear it, so looks like I'm going to have to be one 😁 .

Hello
Servicing is pretty straightforward : oil and filter, air filter, rear drive oil, spark plugs.... all DIY able.

Buy a oil filter wrench (I forget the size) as the oil filter will be on tight.

You need a 3/8 in thin walled spark plug socket.

Replacing the coolant, read the manual to ensure you turn the valve at the bottom of the engine correctly.

If you need to clean the carbs out, that is a more difficult task but there are many posts on here that describe the process

Forks oil replacement and head race setting are a bit involved.

Welcome.

There is nothing particularly complicated on the Max so don't be put off from having a go. A copy of the Service Manual and/ or a Haynes will mystify most things.
As the bike is new to you the first thing I would recommend is a full service (The attached PDF will help) including changing all of the fluids - don't assume it has ever been done!

I would also run one of the proprietary fuel system cleaners through (e.g. Forte).

When replacing the brake and clutch fluids use the reverse bleeding process, particularly for the clutch.

Fork oil does require some dismantling but no big deal (if all else fails read the manual :)).