1st Gen V-Max primer on Carb "stages"

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
VMax Year
looking for a basic primer on "carb stage" mods. I read a lot about stage 1, stage 3 and stage 7 mods. are these just kits marketed by one particular company? Or, is there a technical meaning behind the different stages.

I have two Gen 1 Vmax, the 2002 is stock and staying such. but the 98 is one Im willing to play with an mod for fun. trying to figure out what I want to do, but also what the terms I read about mean.

thanks.

There is no S3 for a Max and S1 & 7 are Dynojet nomenclature for their kits.

Attached are the fitting instructions for both kits.

I've no experience of either but from what I've read S1 doesn't seem to have many (any?) fans whereas S7 does have some takers and no doubt they will chip in with their experiences.
This is a quote from this seller "The Dynojet Stage 7 Jet Kit is a great tuning option when upgrading to a full aftermarket exhaust system on your 1985-2007 Yamaha Vmax. Dynojet Jet Kits increase power and smoothness throughout the entire rev range, while maintaining optimum fuel economy. Stage 7 Jet Kit requires running four individual K&N pod style filters, available separately."
Note the comment regarding the exhaust and filter requirements...no one ever said getting more power was cheap!

You can also get some thoughts from the Forum here

A third option is the Morley jet kit, referred to in the thread link above.

Attachments

• Dynojet Stage 1.pdf
    2.9 MB · Views: 0
  • Dynojet Stage 7.pdf
    134.3 KB · Views: 1