Alternator Brush Replacement

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

StevieJ

Reaction score
Hi guys... i'm about to replace the alternator brushes on my 2000 Vmax for the first time...and wondering if I need to disconnect the battery before I do it or anything else I should know about replacing them... Any info or tips would be greatly appreciated... 🙂

Starter brushes yes, but 'alternator brushes?'
Yeah, the two brushes on the alternator that recharge the battery... Everything I've found calls them 'alternator brushes'...but no one says anything about disconnecting the battery to replace them...

Yup, they are #5...
Yes, they look like the #5 brushes on the starter motor... As you can tell, I'm a noob at my bike's electrical system... My battery wasn't recharging properly, so I installed a new battery and it still wasn't recharging properly... I was then informed that these brushes wear down over time and can cause that to happen... Is this correct???

Yeah, the two brushes on the alternator that recharge the battery... Everything I've found calls them 'alternator brushes'...but no one says anything about disconnecting the battery to replace them...
LOL Get and read, then re-read a manual. Maybe the battery, alternator, regulator, wiring and or connections but not your starter or the "brushes".

LOL Get and read, then re-read a manual. Maybe the battery, alternator, regulator, wiring and or connections but not your starter or the "brushes".
So my battery not recharging has nothing to do with those brushes... Great... What a royal waste of time... I'm getting seriously sick of this BS... I can't get my bike fixed because the only shop near me decided to turn into A-Holes and not to do repairs on bikes older than 15 years... I had the manual and you need to be a mechanic to make sense of it... Time to get rid of this headache...