Clutch slave rebuild?

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

snakecharmr

Reaction score
Hoping someone has a good "how to" article or even better a video on rebuilding the clutch slave. Bike is an 85. Ordered the rebuild kit today so it will be a week or better before I attempt this.. I've never done this before so the more simple instructions the better.

Hoping someone has a good "how to" article or even better a video on rebuilding the clutch slave. Bike is an 85. Ordered the rebuild kit today so it will be a week or better before I attempt this.. I've never done this before so the more simple instructions the better.

I think I need to rebuild mine as well. Where did you get your rebuild kit from?

I tried rebuilding mine and due to rust and pits in the piston, I just ordered a new one. You can disassemble the slave the same way you do brake calipers, just use a shot of air in the front main line hole while the bleed screw is still installed and it should pop right out. Just make sure you drain the fluid or you'll have a mess on your hands. After that, there are just 2 copper crush washers to replace and 2 rubber seals around the piston, fairly simple.

David Justiss
USAF First Sergeant
554 RED HORSE Sq, Guam

I ordered my slave cylinder from partzilla.com for $69 plus shipping. Shipped out fast.

David Justiss
USAF First Sergeant
554 RED HORSE Sq, Guam

OEM one was going to bust me for $150.00 after taxes so I figure I'll give a rebuild a go and try to save $130.00 first... Thats a new front tire worth of savings..lol