Disappointing 3 Cylinder Wonder

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Blurr

Reaction score
Great Forum you guys got here. Truly impressed with what I've stumbled across. Head and shoulders above the official forums for usability and general knowledge level of the contributers. I've been digging through it for the last 4 months and was so impressed I set up an account. That brings the grand total of forums I am member of to, lets see, one.

Finally found a problem that I wasn't able to find an answer to by doing a forum search, so I have a reason to speak up. Lucky me.

Found this problem while out riding with some friends after I walked out of a diner on Sunday afternoon get-to-gether. Recently I noticed what was a smooth idling bike was now slowly dropping RPM till it died. Closer inspection showed at start up the header pipe from cylinder 2 is ice cold (in Alaska so ya, Ice Cold) while idling. Pulled the plug and it showed some discoloration but certainly wasn't fouled. It was certainly getting fire(ask me how I know).

But on the ride to the diner I wasn't at a loss for power. Nor on the ride back, but I did notice some popping and smallest of hesitation around 3-4grand. Once I got home I checked the No.2 header and it wasn't cold anymore.

I figured this must be a carb problem. There, I've exhausted my mechanical aptitude. I am fairly professorial as a 'Parts Changer' but I'm not 'Mechanic' enough to know witch ones would be the most likely to need to be changed. Short of starting at the top of the list and working down...well, given that I am much more a computer whiz then mechanical wonder child I'm wondering what I should look at first.

Sounds like the idle jet on the offending carb is blocked.