Possible vmax purchase

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Hi all! Been on the forum perusing things for a while but only posted one other time. I got a lot of good info on that post and I appreciate it a ton! The last time I posted, I was looking at purchasing a 1988 vmax and wasn't sure it was worth it. I got a resounding no on that one. I didn't end up buying it either so the forum helped out a lot!

Ok so fast forward a few years. Same bike, same owner, now he wants to do some trading for this bike. So now I'm asking the vmax forum this, how much is it worth? Deets on the machine are as such. It's an 88 vmax. Has 68,000 miles on it. Does not run. Needs fork seals, carbs gone through, tires, blah, blah. Overall it's in what I would classify as "poor" shape. Does have a clean and clear title though. I'm a certified Auto mechanic/tech at a gm dealer, and I have worked on this guys junk several times in the past, so I will probably be trading primarily labor for it. What do you guys think is fair for a bike such as this?

$500, only if it has papers and the engine readily turns-over, without a 'box of rocks' sound. It needs everything. Having a Yamaha dealership do the carbs will probably cost you $500 in labor. That's what you tell him, and parts are extra.

OK, what's shop rate around there, about $120/hr for mechanical repairs at car dealerships? What does the mechanic make, of that, $50-60/hr? That would be 10 hours @ $50/hr. Go 'by the book' for whatever labor he wants.

Here's one in Seattle advertised in Oregon, 41 K mi. new rear tire, fork seals, asking $3500. a 2002. I don't think he'll get that-much.
https://seattle.craigslist.org/sno/mcy/d/everett-2002-yamaha-vmax/7098130973.html

Last edited: