Am I a beginner?

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bdunn13

Reaction score
I have read a few places that the new VMax is NOT for beginners. Likewise, from the specs on the bike, I would have to concur.

However, I have no idea if I am a beginner or not. So let me tell you about myself and get some opinions.

I am 6'3 210lbs, 35 years old and pretty coordinated.

My wife and I took a beginner's safety course in spring of 2007.

After that, I got my first bike and still own it. It is a 2007 V-Star Custom (650).

I have put almost 4K miles on it since then, mainly riding it back and forth to work which is around 10 miles from my house.

I bought my wife a 2007 Honda Reflex 250cc - and put most of the 1000 miles it has on it myself as I knocked her up :) and we figured it would be best if she did not ride anymore.

I still respect my V-Star and like it a lot. I have a 2000 Trans-Am and drive that thing like a maniac - but i don't drive my bike the same way. When it comes to safety I like to err on the side of caution. However, the 650 is too small for me.

A guy I work with that has a nice V6 Honda bike - said I am ready for a bigger bike but is the VMax TOO big for me?

I don't have a death wish and am a lucky father of a one year old boy. I want to be around to watch him grow up.

Thoughts?

Thanks,
BD

I have read a few places that the new VMax is NOT for beginners. Likewise, from the specs on the bike, I would have to concur.

However, I have no idea if I am a beginner or not. So let me tell you about myself and get some opinions.

After that, I got my first bike and still own it. It is a 2007 V-Star Custom (650).

I have put almost 4K miles on it since then, mainly riding it back and forth to work which is around 10 miles from my house.