NEED HELP! Electrical gremlin

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Rob Cooker

Reaction score
Bought a 2002 Vmax non running project pretty cheap. Let me start by saying I am no bike mechanic, have rode plenty worked on very few.

When I bought the bike the guy told me it wouldn't turn over at all, and the he thought the fuel pump was bad. Got it home battery was toast, replaced that no fire from ignition switch, crossed the solenoid posts it turns over fine and spray a little gas in the carbs and she fires up and purrs like a kitten until it runs out of gas.
The kill switch, start button were broken replaced with a new Yamaha part, still no ignition. All fuses are good, no issues there. I dont have Fuel pump, headlights, V boost or horn.
What the heck could it be? TCI box a relay I am not seeing? Clutch safety switch? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

The grounds look good but will clean them when I get home this evening. Any other options? Thanks

The grounds look good but will clean them when I get home this evening. Any other options? Thanks

How good are you at reading wire schematics? When too many things are not working and not enough fuses to justify the issue, start back at the beginning. Grounds are and always have been problematic on Yamaha bikes. But when you can rule that out, head to the ignition switch. You need to start at the beginning of the power flow. Battery, fuse, ignition switch, more fuses, controls(whatever the circuit device you are looking for), and grounds. If you can read a schematic, it would help immensely for you and your electrical diagnosis.

I'm not completely useless with schematics, but also not a pro. Going to check the grounds in a few and go from there.