overflowing carb

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MONTREALMAX

Reaction score
did a complete rebuild of the carbs. turn the key on and the pump fills the bowls. start the bike and the overflow for the left rear carb starts pissing gas non stop. tried tapping to loosen float and draining and tapping all to no avail. removed the carbs again and opened up the float bowls.
the float appeared to be sitting about 1 mm lower into the half moon which is strange because i set them to sit just flush at the edge of the moon shape on the casting. not sure why it has moved. the float seems to bind on the post if i lift it up against the carb body (does that make sense?? poor description perhaps). everything seems to be ok....there is no crud in the inlet valve and it seems to move freely.......

I am not a carb expert by any stretch but know my way around enough to know i do not know.....ya know?
it starts up perfectly perhaps i can bungee cord a jerry can under the overflow and blissfully ride on.......:eusa_dance:

Are you sure the float is fully seated on post? As i all the way down? It seems when you put the cover back on it lowered the float and made you way rich.

is there a thread on bench testing the float and inlet valve?

Only way to do that is remove that carb from the rack and connect fuel pump directly to fuel inlet of that carb. Try setting the float to the 1/2 moon and reinstall cover. Remove the cover again and see if you float setting changed.

good question i do not know i was careful when putting the cover back on but who knows maybe i did would this cause it to be so rich it woudl piss out the overflow?

i am just trying to eliminate a mistake i have made so i won't end up pulling the carbs again

all this work has taught me a lot about this machine in short order

all this work has taught me a lot about this machine in short order[/quote]