Privacy win for MS and all.

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Well it's a victory for now. I'm sure it will go to the Supreme Court. Fingers crossed.

So its a "win" when the government can't access emails in a federal narcotics case because the emails are hosted on a server in another country?

I don't think the government has a right to see what anyone is doing on a daily basis but if you are involved in a major crime I feel that the government DOES have the right to fully investigate which, in this case, could involve emails on a server in Ireland

I'm not tech savvy by any means but what comes to my mind is something like the Hillary email scandal. What were to happen if she was storing "classified" emails on her own private server in another country? Would that mean they could not be investigated to see if they really were classified? If that were the case, would you still consider this a win?

Here's how you stop a case like Hillary's. You don't let federal employees do their job through private email accounts. It was allowed and never should have been allowed. Problem solved.