Sound After Turning the Key On

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

thundermax

Reaction score
I am new to the Zmax, only had it home a few days now. My question today is this: Should I hear any sound after I turn on the key and before I push the start button? I do hear a sound and it sounds like a solenoid or a gas pump, it only last for about 2 seconds.

Is this normal? Thanks for the info.

If you turn the key off without starting it and then back on you may hear it again, you may not. If you continue to do it you will get to a point were it doesn't do it. Bit disconcerting the first time, huh?
;)

along with the fuel pump cycling to fill bowls you will hear the winning of the vboost motor going to full open, then close then a faint sound while it takes up the slack so three whins, and clicking of the fuel pump if the bowls are not full, as mentioned a few cycles of the key and if all is working the pump sound wont happen til you start it up.

Thanks all of you. RaWarrior thanks for the link to the intro thread, it was good. Right now I am thinking about two issues. First, the leaking of dot 3 or 4 fluid from under the bike. Am going out in a little while to see if any dripped then see where it is dripping from. Am thinking if it is clutch fluid, seals may need replacing. Second is wobble or instability of the front end. Thinking the issue may be steering head bearings and/or fork seals. Saw a youtube on head bearings but it was not very good. Saw Sean's video on adjusting the tension and replacing the front seals.

The fluid is antifreeze. Traced the drop to a hose connection. A fatter larger hose where it connects to what looks like a thermostat housing. Yea!