technometer not working

Discussion in 'VBoost Room' started by gunrunner, Jul 17, 2008.

Help Support VMAX Motorcycle Forum by donating:

  1. Jul 17, 2008 #1

    gunrunner

    gunrunner

    gunrunner

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gladstone Wairarapa , New Zealand
    Having just imported my bike , the rev counter doesnt go , i am yet to investigate . Is it likely to be a fuse or loose wire problem , help please ?:confused2:
     
  2. Jul 17, 2008 #2

    maleko89

    maleko89

    maleko89

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,560
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Gretna, NE
    Does your horn work? If not, probably signal fuse.

    Otherwise, remove two nuts holding instrument cluster on and slide it off posts. Clean the brown and gray wires going into tach.

    If that doesn't help, make sure voltage is on brown wire coming out of fuel pump relay. This is where the gray wire to tach gets the coil signal from. It also sends a signal to your vboost controller.
     
  3. Jul 17, 2008 #3

    lankeeyankee

    lankeeyankee

    lankeeyankee

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,101
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Nashville TN
    If your "rev counter":ummm: is meaning Tachometer / revalutions per minute gauge.
    I have plenty of OEM style insturment gauges, along with an aftermarket tach "rev counter.
     
  4. Jul 21, 2008 #4

    gunrunner

    gunrunner

    gunrunner

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gladstone Wairarapa , New Zealand

    Where do i find the fuel pump relay then ?:ummm:
     
  5. Jul 22, 2008 #5

    maleko89

    maleko89

    maleko89

    Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,560
    Likes Received:
    23
    Location:
    Gretna, NE
    It's under your left scoop.
     
  6. Jul 22, 2008 #6

    gunrunner

    gunrunner

    gunrunner

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gladstone Wairarapa , New Zealand


    Sweet will have a look after work (NZ time ) that is .
     
  7. Jul 24, 2008 #7

    gunrunner

    gunrunner

    gunrunner

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gladstone Wairarapa , New Zealand

    Had a look not really sure what im looking at tho , What am i looking for ?
    I have an online manual but is not much help ...:ummm:
     
  8. May 7, 2020 #8

    slesmeden

    slesmeden

    slesmeden

    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi I have a 97 vmax 1200 I want use another rev counter tacho.
    I can see signal have some kind of connection to fuel relay.
    Normaly when you turn key pump run for 5 sec and stop , when I plug signal gray to my tacho ,pump dont stop after 5 sec. ??? I wonder if bike only works with original tacho?? HELP
     
  9. May 9, 2020 #9

    02GF74

    02GF74

    02GF74

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2020
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    22
    Location:
    UK
    An electronic tachometer works by "counting" pulses. In effect it is a voltmeter averaging the train of pulses, the more pulses, the higher the voltage, the further the needle moves.

    Basically the vmax ignition module supplies the pulse train as the vboost module uses it so any after market tachometer should work albeit you need to be sure the input is compatible.

    Are you sure it is the fuel pump that has stopped working? . If yours is full power, then you hear the vboost servo motor come on every time the ignition is turned on. You should only hear the fuel pump click if it needs to top up the carbs, it should be silent for consecutive ignition on, off cycles once carbs have been topped up.
     
  10. May 10, 2020 #10

    slesmeden

    slesmeden

    slesmeden

    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi thanks for answer
    I have just pluged it in with front left coil ,that should work.
    Its a custom build so I might unintentionally have made a change to wiring.
    you can see there is not so much vmax left ,just modified frame and engine.
    Pulled of a lot of weight , so now its aprox 197kg dry.
    Just need a few things to be done before first start up :)
     

    Attached Files:

  11. May 11, 2020 #11

    desert_max

    desert_max

    desert_max

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Interesting build. Would love to see some better, more detailed pictures of what you have done there!
     
  12. May 11, 2020 #12

    slesmeden

    slesmeden

    slesmeden

    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi shure thing when I get it out in daylight:)
     
  13. May 11, 2020 #13

    mabdcmb@yahoo.com

    mabdcmb@yahoo.com

    mabdcmb@yahoo.com

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,351
    Likes Received:
    109
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    +1
    Share some more photos of your work!
     
  14. May 11, 2020 #14

    slesmeden

    slesmeden

    slesmeden

    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2020
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I made a rd350ypvs in lc frame and a kawa triple 500 with 750 engine some years ago.
    The vmax is project is going to be my last for some time, Its very difficult and expensive to get custom bikes legal here in DK :(, so most home builders dont bother trying. I will post some good photos and some info when I get it finished regulations SUCKS:mad:
     

    Attached Files:

  15. May 23, 2020 at 4:03 PM #15

    desert_max

    desert_max

    desert_max

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    340
    Likes Received:
    46
    Location:
    Phoenix, Arizona, USA
    Amazing stuff. Even though you are making them better and safer, you have difficulties getting them registered. What a shame.
     
  16. May 24, 2020 at 6:15 AM #16

    Fire-medic

    Fire-medic

    Fire-medic

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    9,609
    Likes Received:
    331
    Location:
    Miami Florida
    An interesting 'throwback' design of your VMax, with the blunt fairing, in the style of a Rickman, or a Seeley, and the gas tank looks like a lengthened KZ1000, I assume it's mostly a cover for the air filters and electrical components? Is the front part the gas tank, because of losing the OEM gas tank to the monoshock install? The gas tank and the fairing look like something Toecutter would have ridden, in the first Mad Max.

    Let's see the rear end, where the shock mount is, to go monoshock, and the swingarm to chassis, and the shock mount, does it use a bellcrank for the shock bottom?

    The Yamaha 'smoker' and the 750 triple look well-done, old guys like me always enjoy seeing stuff like that. That-is unless you're a dyed-in-the-wool H-D enthusiast who thinks anything after a Shovelhead should be looked-upon with suspicion.

    More on the Kawasaki 500 chassis, please, pics of the monoshock top & bottom. The wide rims in spokes are appealing. Looks like the application you used for the 6-pot front brakes and the rotors, only sweeps half of the rotor. Is it a Spiegler caliper system?

    I can't make-out the 750's carbs, flatslides?

    Mad-Max-played by Vigilante Club members.jpg

    Mad Max Bubba Zanetti bikes.jpg
     
    Last edited: May 24, 2020 at 6:49 AM

Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

arrow_white