A Little Help For A Newbie Purchase

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tdogmason

Reaction score
I have been reading post for a awhile now, and have been looking for a Vmax for a long time. I have found one, that is a few hours from me. I just wanted to know what you fellas thought of the bike. It is a 1998, with 13k miles, Kerker Slip-ons I think, Stage 7 Jet kit, Air box removed and K&N Filter replaced. New Tires, Drag bars, Shorty Signals. The owner claims that the bike is in perfect condition and was dynoed at 120hp to the rear wheel. All electrical works with no problems. What should I know about the stage 7 kit? Like I said I am a newbie to the vmax, but have had lots of bikes in the past, including building a chopper and selling it if you know how hard that is.... Any help would be great. The asking price was $5,250, but I offered $4500 and he was cool with that. I will try and post pictures as well. Thanks Fellas

VMAX 004.jpg VMAX 005.jpg VMAX 006.jpg VMAX 007.jpg VMAX 008.jpg

Looks like it's in damn good condition. The drag bars aren't that much of an upgrade as far as value goes. The Stage 7 and the kerkers are worth a little in value.
Not sure about seeing anything behind you with those mirrors.
But as long as it runs as good as it looks, I'd say it's a good deal for $4500.

Have you ridden it? Or any other VMax before?

T Dog,Looks like it would be worth $4500.Don't be afraid of the stage 7 carbs.Go bring it home!

No I haven't riddin this bike and no I haven't riddin a Vmax before, but I am have owned an R1, a VTX1800, a vulcan 800, a Honda Shadow, and a Big Bear Sled Chopper. I know what to look for when Test Riding so I do agree with both of you, if it rides as good as it looks I will buy it. I also agree with you on the mirrors, that will be the first thing to come off the bike. Thanks for the help fellas...