Another Newbie!!!

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Vmaxing

Reaction score
Well, I just traded an old dirtbike for a '91 Max...bike is a little rough though. Was stored by the ocean for a few years (like 7) so all the aluminum is oxidized, the bolts are rusty, ect. I am gona paint it all flat black and gloss balck the frame and the wheels. I really dont care about aesthetics anyhoo. I do have some questions though as I am new to the Vmax (not to street or dirtbikes).

1. My front forks have a strange way to air them up. There is a schrader valve on the left leg at the top with a cross over tube to the right side. Is this the normal setup? I ask because I see in the owners manual that there should be a valve on top of the forks under the cap.

2. I have a low speed wobble of death I have to fix. The previous owner mounted the tire backwards and that could easily be the spurce, but at about 25 when slowing with no brakes the bars will almost rip out of out of my hands...YIKES!

3. What parts are needed to convert from a cartridge syle oil filter to a regular spin on type? If the cases are the same for the later years, then I assume the factory has the parts.

4. I want to open the exhaust up a tad, also the stock pipe has bubbled and rusty chrome. The header pipes are a little rusty too. I don't want to spend a shit-ton of $$$ though. So what might the options be? Are aftermarket header pipes better as far as performance goes? Or maybe I pull the stock header pipes, get them re-coated, then add a set of slip-ons?

5. The bike is fast...I am comming from a Harley most recently (have had tons of sportbikes in the past, but been a while).

Thanks in advance for the help and comments. I am psyched for a new project (just sold our rally car).

Welcome!

1. In 1993, Vmaxes had air valve under fork caps. You might have a different year manual than your '91.