CBR Tail Light Wiring?

Discussion in 'Electrical' started by James C., Mar 10, 2019.

Help Support VMAX Motorcycle Forum by donating:

  1. Mar 10, 2019 #1

    James C.

    James C.

    James C.

    New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a CBR light that I'd like to put in place of my stock one. The previous owner gave memthe light when I bought the bike. The light I have has three wires. I'm hoping it's the one with the integrated turn signals. How can I tell? How do you wire the light in?
     
  2. Mar 11, 2019 #2

    Bill Seward

    Bill Seward

    Bill Seward

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Messages:
    2,654
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    Holland NY
    3 wire tail lights are set up for brake / tail function only. Ground, Brake+, and Tail+. You would need 2 more wires for the left and right + connections.
     
  3. Mar 11, 2019 #3

    sdt354

    sdt354

    sdt354

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    5,633
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Southern N.E.
    You could use that light if you leave the OEM directionals and may need a seperate plate light? But most of us use the integrated CBR-600 lights found on E-Bay. I still needed a plate light but there are new lenses out that may solve that. A cleaner look than the stock light, that's for sure.
     
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2019
  4. Mar 11, 2019 #4

    James C.

    James C.

    James C.

    New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replys guys. I'll have to take a look on eBay and order one up. I purchased a set of bags that I'm going to try and squeeze on, and the stock signals are right in the way. So I'd like eliminate those and have the integrated
     
  5. Mar 19, 2019 at 12:23 PM #5

    James C.

    James C.

    James C.

    New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I purchased another light that has the signals, I am now wondering for the resistors, can you tie the resistor to the signal wire and to the brake light ground? The signal wires don't have a ground they are only one wire.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2019 at 12:28 PM
  6. Mar 20, 2019 at 4:53 PM #6

    sdt354

    sdt354

    sdt354

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    5,633
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Southern N.E.
    Only for the directionals do you need resistors. And only if the hyper flashing is bothersome. There's more than one way to do it. I used a resistors in parallel on each directional signal wire.
     
  7. Mar 20, 2019 at 4:56 PM #7

    James C.

    James C.

    James C.

    New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    What rating of resistors did you use?
     
  8. Mar 20, 2019 at 7:18 PM #8

    sdt354

    sdt354

    sdt354

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2008
    Messages:
    5,633
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Southern N.E.
    It's been a while, I'll check them when I can. They came from Sean I think. He most likely can sell you a couple.
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2019 at 10:19 AM

Share This Page



arrow_white