Is Vboost fitted?

Discussion in 'VBoost Room' started by 02GF74, Mar 26, 2020 at 4:39 AM.

Help Support VMAX Motorcycle Forum by donating:

Tags:
  1. Mar 26, 2020 at 4:39 AM #1

    02GF74

    02GF74

    02GF74

    Member

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Apologies if this has been done a million times but a quick search showed no results.

    So as per title, how do you tell if v-boost is fitted? I'm a recent owner of a 1998 Vmax that should be full power but when ignition is turned on, only sound is the fuel pump (?) clicking a few times.

    Although at two times there was a short buzz, approx. 1 second, that sounds like the v-boost servo motor but I know there should be two bursts, about 3 seconds as the valve opens and closes.

    On here somebody had similar problem that was cured with a new battery - I suspect mine is not 100% but it does quite happily turned the engine over.

    So what do I look for - photos please - I am in process of removing the airbox but not succeeded yet, I assume that once that is out of the way, v-boost will be revealed …. or not.

    Thanks.
     
  2. Mar 26, 2020 at 5:09 AM #2

    MaxMidnight

    MaxMidnight

    MaxMidnight

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Cumbria, England.
    VBoost from above

    upload_2020-3-26_9-4-17.png

    From the RH side

    upload_2020-3-26_9-8-11.png

    and the V Boost inlet bits

    upload_2020-3-26_9-9-4.png
     

    Attached Files:

  3. Mar 26, 2020 at 5:55 AM #3

    02GF74

    02GF74

    02GF74

    Member

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    thanks for super quick reply; it is really difficult to get a clear photo but there is something similar between the two carbs - a hex bolt head holding a bracket that is angled at 45 degrees - yellow in photo below. Also there is a thin cable coming at an angle ahead of the carbs - cable that is pulled by the servo - it looks too thin to be the throttle cable but looks thin.
    vb.jpg
     
  4. Mar 26, 2020 at 9:16 AM #4

    dannymax

    dannymax

    dannymax

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    13,156
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    columbia county new york
    Probly a controller issue
     
  5. Mar 26, 2020 at 10:47 AM #5

    mavgrab302

    mavgrab302

    mavgrab302

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    conroe, tx
    Any chance some one unplugged the servo for the vboost? Heres a short vid of mine, you can hear the servo and fuel pump just for reference.
     
  6. Mar 27, 2020 at 9:09 AM #6

    02GF74

    02GF74

    02GF74

    Member

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    ok, so would I be correct in saying the bike has Vboost if the module is fitted? A quick google/ebay search seems to indicate the black module, highlighted below, is the boost controller?

    I have undone all 4 carb inlet rubber clamps so the air box should now lift off? That would be the sure way of telling plus I need to clean the carbs out too.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Mar 27, 2020 at 10:38 AM #7

    MaxMidnight

    MaxMidnight

    MaxMidnight

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,772
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Cumbria, England.
    No, you also need to have the V Boost butterflies, operating cables and servo motor.
    If you can see what is shown in the photo above then the butterflies are in place; you would also be able to see if the servo is cycling when the ignition is switched on.
    Yes, the airbox will come off but it may require a bit of a tug depending how long it has been undisturbed.
    When refitting a wipe of silicon grease on the rubbers will facilitate it going back on.
    Again, this requires a bit of effort but I push down on each corner and you will feel the airbox spigot snap onto the rubber. Do this for each corner.
    The next issue you will have is relocating the breather pipe that goes fits under the airbox.
    This is a thin-wall tube so will need to be reattached once the airbox has been seated.
    Your best way to access it is by removing the coolant overflow bottle and use some long plies to ease it onto the spigot. Don't forget to have the clip on the tube before you do this.
    An alternative is to replace the tube with some heater hose which, as it is thick walled, will slide onto the spigot as you press down on the airbox.
    You will, of course, need to ensure the hose and spigot are aligned before pushing down.
     
  8. Mar 27, 2020 at 6:07 PM #8

    02GF74

    02GF74

    02GF74

    Member

    Joined:
    Thursday
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    I'm tempted to say yes.
    [​IMG]

    and the servo is at the top, just off middle on the right?
    [​IMG]
     
  9. Mar 27, 2020 at 9:19 PM #9

    desert_max

    desert_max

    desert_max

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Phoenix, USA
    Yep. You have the full monty.
     
  10. Mar 28, 2020 at 3:56 AM #10

    mabdcmb@yahoo.com

    mabdcmb@yahoo.com

    mabdcmb@yahoo.com

    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,322
    Likes Received:
    98
    Location:
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Looks like servo motor, and intake assembly is there. What about the controller under the left scoop? Is it there and plugged in?
     

Draft saved Draft deleted

Share This Page

Group Builder
arrow_white