Looking for Advice for Changing Brake Fluid

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

The Chicken Man

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am looking to change the brake fluid on my Vmax. My bike is a 2009, and while I do like to keep the bike as original as possible, my brake fluid is looking a little too original. I've noticed slight brake dragging too which I'm thinking may be related.

So my question for you today is if the process to change the brake fluid is different on this 2nd Gen than my old 1st Gen. Particularly my concern because of the ABS. I know on some cars a scan tool is required to actuate the pump in order to get all the old fluid out of it. Is that a similar case for these bikes? Or is the method different maybe?

I'm new to all this technology so any advice you may have for a newbie like me will be greatly appreciated!

Old Brake Fluid Photo.jpg

Hello everyone,

I am looking to change the brake fluid on my Vmax. My bike is a 2009, and while I do like to keep the bike as original as possible, my brake fluid is looking a little too original. I've noticed slight brake dragging too which I'm thinking may be related.

So my question for you today is if the process to change the brake fluid is different on this 2nd Gen than my old 1st Gen. Particularly my concern because of the ABS. I know on some cars a scan tool is required to actuate the pump in order to get all the old fluid out of it. Is that a similar case for these bikes? Or is the method different maybe?

I'm new to all this technology so any advice you may have for a newbie like me will be greatly appreciated!

View attachment 89787
Yes, the procedure is different for Gen 2 Vmax.
‘I am not an expert but here’s what I would do.
1) Find a service manual for your bike. You should be able to find a reprint on eBay. It has extensive book learnin on the brake system.