My Frame Story

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

-Lee-

Reaction score
I did not see a section for Frames, so I am submitting this to the Suspension category.

Some of you may remember that last year my riding season came to an abrupt end. This came about because I discovered what I thought was a crack on my frame. I tried my best to describe what I thought was wrong and even took a picture or 2.

The "Crack" in the frame was on the top left motor-mount (The one with the removeable triangle piece). It was right at the weld that holds to 2 threaded holes in to mount the triangle piece. When I reported this here, "he who will remain nameless" immediately said that this happened because I have solid motor mounts. I did not believe that myself completely, but it was plausible.

I had been threatening for a few years to give "NightFlight" a tear-down and start coating and chroming. Now I had an additional reason. Over the next 3 weeks I completely disassembled the Max. I mean all the way down!

I took the frame to a place that seemed to have a very good reputation for paint, polish, chrome, repairs and restorations. The owner told me that he had seen and reapired far worse and that I should not worry. He then proceeded to show me dozens of examples of his work. He specialized in the repair of aluminum wheels and his work was phenominal. Since I wanted the frame stripped anyway he said that he would look at the "Crack" once that was done.

About a week later I received an e-mail telling me that the frame was done. I assumed that it was just done being stripped. When I got to the shop he had the frame in the lobby for my inspection. I am not lying when I say that unless you were an expert and knew exactly what you were looking for you would have never seen the repair!