need a set of carbs

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

golden763

Reaction score
hello im new to this whole vmax thing but i just bought a 1985 yamaha v max that has been sitting in someones garage for 7 years because he got in an accident and is now paralized so he said i could have it for 300 hundred dollars which i thought was good but i got it home and tried to start it it runs but it only idles so i dont know anything about carbs so i was wondering if anyone had a sset they wanted to get rid of thanks

before throwing money at it to fix it. try a few techniques to fix it.

pea shooter, and/or shotgun technique may just fix it.

search here on the forum for those two phrases and a lot will pop up to help.

our in house carb guruz will be by soon to help out more.

We will get her runnin good with ya.

If you have or could borrow a video camera, make a video starting from turning the key to the on position. It has to have sound so we can hear what is happening. So when you blip the throttle what happens ? Does it stall ? or does it die when you put it in gear...is the kickstand down at this time ? Did you drain and flush the tank, is there new gas in it. Did you replace the fuel filter ? When you first turn on the key - do you hear the fuel pump ticking and filling the carbs ? plus do you hear the two stage servo whine for the vboost valves opening and closing ?

Sitting around that long - the gas will be shit...we need more info to help and read as much as you can or find someone who has had a Max before and get them to help or you may be forced to take it into a dealer. That won't be cheap, so learn what you can and read, read, read so you know what question to ask us.