Some general questions - 1st gen vmax

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I'm new to forums, so bear with me. I do find this forum an excellent source, and I'm thankful & fortunate (we) have it.

I always wanted a vmax. Pretty expensive most often, but I picked up a 1985 that had been stored in a large bin for nearly 6 years. Pretty good shape. Approx. 23,xxx miles.

Since I've owned many motorcycles (self taught mechanics), I have got the bike running pretty good. I REALLY love this bike.

NOTE: I have put allot of time into finding answers to my questions on my own. I appreciate any help.

Anyway, to the point. My 'general' questions are:

* The needles in these carbs have only (1) setting for the c-clip. Everyone else talks as though theirs has several settings (for enriching / leaning). Any insight?

* Why no vboost for the European vmax?

* Why didn't Japan have a vmax until 1990?

* COP (coils over plug?) Is this better?

* Underneath the airbox is (2) nipple type connections for hoses. One, at the rear of the airbox, goes down to the crankcase for re-circulation purposes. But, the one at the front of the airbox (UNDERNEATH)......goes where? On mine, it's not connected to anything. I can't find if it's supposed to be connected anywhere.

* One last thing. I've never ridden one of these bikes before. I don't know anyone who has, or, who owns one (yet). So, I don't know if mine is running well? The reason I ask this, is because all 4 cylinders are showing between 90 - 100 psi on a compression check. Could it still run when 128 psi is the minimum? I understand the battery has to be fully charged, and the bike warmed up, and WOT. Anyone's take on this?

Thank you vmax forum.net for being here for me. 20 years ago, this would've been a pain in the ass without the internet & people like you.

Richard Burkholder
[email protected]