Trouble with front brake light

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

djw479

Reaction score
Noob here with a simple question.

I've recently replaced the rear brake pads and adjusted the rear brake pedal light switch to accomodate. While checking out the brake light functions, I noticed the brake light does not come on when applying the front brake lever. It worked occasionally when I first noticed it, but now (a few days later) the front brake level does not light the brake light at all. Bike has not gotten wet at all during this discovery.

Is there some front brake light switch adjustment similar to the rear brake? The Yamaha Owners Manual does not contain any maintenance info regarding a front brake switch. I see how to adjust the front brake lever height, but I did not see a switch attached.

I am just purchasing a service manual that should hopefully arrive in a week or so. But being in Chicago my warmer days of riding are quickly coming to an end, and I am chomping to ride it more NOW. Any knowledge on what to check, clean, switch to replace, etc would be greatly appreciated.

I know some may may say just engage the rear brake level first when stopping, but I tend to use my front brakes first and foremost. Maybe I'm old-fashioned, but I really want have both brakes initiate the brake light!

Thanks for any advice in advance,
Dan

Last edited:
Dan, I would use contact cleaner and clean the brake switch leads and connections. Then, use an ohmmeter to verify switch works.

Dan, There is a switch under the brake lever that is designed like the old points type ignition. Corrosion will build on the contact points, that prolly is the problem.
I got a new switch from the stealer, 'bout $15, then took the old one apart and cleaned up the contacts with a file. It now works fine.
I'll mail it to you if you want to use it as a test switch to check yours.