Bike shakes and high pitch vibration

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

06Vmaxfan

Reaction score
My 2006 Vmax handlebars will shake at all speeds. I can let go with one hand and the handle bars will shake back and forth like a cars stearing wheel when a tire is out of ballance. When my wife is riding on the back the shaking goes away. Also when my wife is riding with me I get an intermintant feel that can best be described as a flat rear tire but the tire is fine as far as air pressure and overall condition of the tires.

I also get a high pitch vibration in the handlebars when I turn right or left into a parking lot or my driveway and on sharp curves. Going straite there is no vibration.

I bought this bike new in Febuary 2007 and to date have only put 5K miles on the bike. I have only noticed these strange vibrations this year when I started riding it more ofter as of March. Is this common for these bikes and I just never noticed it till now or do I have an issue with tires or bearings?

Sounds like some strange symptoms.

Some people are more susceptible to notice vibes than others. I spent some time on sportster with a solid mount engine so jumping on the max was like riding on a pillow.

I would check over the bike for any loose fasteners. Stuff like motor mounts, the removeable frame section, axles, forks, etc.....

I would also check the steering bearings via the "bump test" and also check the swingarm pivot bolts for proper torque.

Could be something coming loose. Could be tires out of balance

Have you inspected the tires to check for any irregularities? Any funny looking bulges. Not in your pants, on your tires :biglaugh: . Any indication that a wheel weight(s) was lost??

I'm grabbing at straws here