Tool set starter kit?

VMAX  Forum

Help Support VMAX Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Gally

Reaction score
I finally purchased my Vmax after over 20 years since I saw my first one, thanks to the help of this forum. I bought a '92 that has some customization.

I plan to do some "tinkering" although I am far from a mechanic, I have always been mechanically inclined. I have never purchaed tools (have borroed from my father) but would like to get started with the VMAX as a good excuse.

My first thought was to do the "shotgun" as I doubt the carbs have been done, and I do live in the desert so there could be anything gumming them up.

Any thoughts on a starter kit of tools???:hmmm:

I finally purchased my Vmax after over 20 years since I saw my first one, thanks to the help of this forum. I bought a '92 that has some customization.

I plan to do some "tinkering" although I am far from a mechanic, I have always been mechanically inclined. I have never purchaed tools (have borroed from my father) but would like to get started with the VMAX as a good excuse.

My first thought was to do the "shotgun" as I doubt the carbs have been done, and I do live in the desert so there could be anything gumming them up.

Any thoughts on a starter kit of tools???:hmmm:

I would go to sears, and get a craftsman multi piece set. 180 piece or more.

They have a lifetime guarantee and wont break the bank. Then later on down the road you can invest in higher end tools.

Also score yourself some specialty tools, ie torque wrench, carb sync tool...etc.

LOL....:biglaugh:

No there is no Sears ...yet, but Mickey D and Krispy Kream is everywhere! ACE hardware is here...not sure what the quality of tools are there?

I am goinh to Atlanta in a few weeks, so I was going to get something there. The 180 set sounds like a good Idea and should be able to ship it with my luggage.